I want to set the stage with something I witnessed last week at the weekly EDH night.  I’m not going to put names to this, and I’ll do my damnedest to list the facts in as neutral a fashion as I possibly can.  The goal of this exercise is to open discussion on where people see the boundaries of the “social contract”, and what is and is not acceptable as a result.

Game time – roughly turn 10.

The house rules – Penalties are assessed for eliminating a player before their seventh turn, taking more than one extra turn in a row, recurring Mindslaver more than once, or demonstrating an infinite combo loop.  (Game-ending combos are discouraged.)

Game type – Casual. 

The official “league” game ($5 weekly for points and prizes – highest point totals may pick a current booster pack, and everyone gets a foil promo.) has ended, and this is an impromptu second game.

Game state – Five players remaining. 

Player A has possession of a Mirran Crusader enchanted with Crown of Flames.  Player B controls a token copy of Gilded Drake.

The play:

Player B has just passed the turn.  Player A untaps and plays Mana Geyser.  This, in conjunction with his existing lands, allows him to play Gratuitous Violence and pump his Mirran Crusader via Crown of Flames to a 16/16.  He declares his attack, sending his Mirran Crusader at Player B for a net 64 damage.  Instead of blocking, Player B responds with Reflect Damage, eliminating Player A from the game.

.     .     .     .     .

QUESTIONS:

1)Taken at face value, is this an acceptable game interaction in your metagame?  Why or why not?

2) Is either play (the lethal attack, or the Reflect Damage) unacceptable to you, given what you know of the situation?

3) How does the current game length affect your opinion, if at all?

4) How does your opinion change if this were the league (for prizes)  game of the evening?

5) What is your definition of the “Social Contract”?

6) Does this series of events fall inside or outside of your definition?  Why?

7) You begin this turn as Player A.  How do you play out this turn?

8) You begin this turn as Player B.  How do you play out this turn?

9) You are one of the other players at the table.  During this turn, you hold Spell Crumple with enough mana to cast it.  What (if anything) do you do?

10) You are one of the other players at the table.  During this turn, you hold Repulse with enough mana to cast it.  What (if anything) do you do?

 

-Cass
@GDCCommander